DFBarracks - Forums




Delta Force Barracks Forums - Powered by XMB 1.9.11
Delta Force Barracks Forums
Not logged in [Login - Register]
Go To Bottom

Printable Version  
 Pages:  1  
Author: Subject: So You Wanna Be A Terrain maker
LoA
Corporal
***


Avatar


Posts: 190
Registered: 1-18-2004
Member Is Offline

Mood: go to hell

[*] posted on 1-29-2004 at 02:58 PM
So You Wanna Be A Terrain maker


i been makeing terrains since df1 and im going to tell you the MAIN tools i use hopefully by the time your done you will have something like this http://www.terranova-exp.com/~loa/expbhd08_LoA_jurasicpark.jpg so here we go im going to attempt to list some stuff that you will need to make terrains for bhd and for the most part any of the df games.
first off is some kind of paint shop. i prefer adobe photoshop over paint shop pro but psp works just fine.in those programs you can create your height map "the grey scale" which is your height map. allways referd to as terrainname_d in all the df games but bhd.bhd uses a cpt tool which i will get too. you will allso use then for your color pics which are allways referd too by terrainname_c.you will need to your paint shop to make those,you can use bryce to make color pics for your terrains as well as terragen but they will allways need to be touched up in your paint shop. personaly i prefer bryce 5 to terragen all though terragen does a fine job.all so in both programs you can create height maps but i feel they just dont come out as good as the ones you may learn how to do by hand in a paint shop kinda bland all thugh i use them for a hill here and there,but none the less kick butt for color pics, now those are the only tools you need to make terrains for df games other then bhd.im geting to bhd after the links to those apps

for adobe photo
http://www.adobe.com/products/photoshop/main.html

for Bryce 5

http://www.corel.com/servlet/Satellite?pagename=Corel/Products/productInfo&id=1042551234521&content=Features

for terragen"the only free one"

http://www.planetside.co.uk/terragen/

now on to bhd terrains these are a little harder because of the poly terrain simply put nova is useing a new style terrain engine and with the tools available its 99.9% inposible to make a flawless terrain 100% glitch free so dont get discouraged when you see some errors do your best and work around it as a mapper.i cant explain it better then major headache does in his tut for makeing bhd terrains so heres his link.
http://www.dfarena.com/dfaweb/terrains.htm

now the link for the great fwo ravens cpt converter http://www.dfarena.com/~files/FwO_CPT_1.zip

please keep in mind that you need to make your height map a bmp for the converter and my advice is to convert under 40% any higher and terrain might look fo****eyed.well you think im going in to technique or how ever its spelled your crazy, that must be learned from trial and error and from ones own creativeness. but if you need a hand give me a shout i will try to help out. oh yeah let me know if this helps out. love to see a terrain forum moveing along.
View user's profile Visit user's homepage View All Posts By User
LoA
Corporal
***


Avatar


Posts: 190
Registered: 1-18-2004
Member Is Offline

Mood: go to hell

[*] posted on 2-6-2004 at 08:49 AM


well the mod tools are here, nova has released there "terrain maker" which is nothing more then a cpt converter yes it works, but please keep in mind you will still need all info above except for the fwo ravens cpt converter.

now a quick review the cpt released by nova works fine with the exception of the amount of time it takes to convert 5 to 10 min. and the worst part of it is it dumps 680 files in to the export folder with the cpt and well thats all that matters i guess.so other then haveing to delete 680 files every time you convert a cpt it works pretty good.
View user's profile Visit user's homepage View All Posts By User
Pseudopath
Corporal
***


Avatar


Posts: 125
Registered: 8-6-2003
Member Is Offline

Mood: Humbug!

thumbup.gif posted on 2-10-2004 at 07:46 PM
Brilliant



Just what I was looking for.

Thanks. will give it a go asap.




3.4Ghz P4
Asus P4C800-e Dlx
4x1024Mb 184 pin DIMM PC3200
Win XP Pro SP2 5.1.2160
Radeon 9800XT 256Mb DDR AGP 8x
Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS
2x74Gb WD740GD Raptors (RAID-0)
Antec TrueControl 550P
View user's profile Visit user's homepage View All Posts By User
LoA
Corporal
***


Avatar


Posts: 190
Registered: 1-18-2004
Member Is Offline

Mood: go to hell

[*] posted on 2-11-2004 at 12:27 PM


great glad to see this is some help to folks,any questions dont be afraid to ask.asking is the best way to learn
View user's profile Visit user's homepage View All Posts By User
Pseudopath
Corporal
***


Avatar


Posts: 125
Registered: 8-6-2003
Member Is Offline

Mood: Humbug!

[*] posted on 2-16-2004 at 07:13 AM
I'll ask then...


Any ideas why this isnt working?

pseudo_terr.zip (4.42 Mb)

Thanks for your help.




3.4Ghz P4
Asus P4C800-e Dlx
4x1024Mb 184 pin DIMM PC3200
Win XP Pro SP2 5.1.2160
Radeon 9800XT 256Mb DDR AGP 8x
Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS
2x74Gb WD740GD Raptors (RAID-0)
Antec TrueControl 550P
View user's profile Visit user's homepage View All Posts By User
*SD*LONGBOW
Grunt
*


Avatar


Posts: 1
Registered: 2-16-2004
Location: Pomeroy, Ohio
Member Is Offline

Mood: Happy and ready

wink.gif posted on 2-16-2004 at 11:55 AM
Can Someone......


Ok guys listen up.I have no clue how to make a terrain so could someone E-Mail me a terrain that is like grass.My E-Mail is socomkid15@yahoo.com



*SD*LONGBOW
View user's profile Visit user's homepage View All Posts By User
LoA
Corporal
***


Avatar


Posts: 190
Registered: 1-18-2004
Member Is Offline

Mood: go to hell

[*] posted on 2-16-2004 at 12:35 PM


ok just looked at your terrain and works fine for me,only with 2 issue though,

1 your height of the terrain is low which will give you problems if you attept to put tunnels and anything else that sinks below absolute 0 z height, a good way to cure the terrain would be to add a new layer probably white then under layer options use something like overlay,softlight or diffrence one of those layer options will lighten things up a bit then flaten layer and play with the image brightness/contast option. all so make sure you check the offset to see if it created a new seem. all so i sugest you stay away from the blackest of black that will give you the lowest height in the game and well as you can tell thats no good.

2, while looking at your terrain file you had water height at -10. well thats no good cause it will max the height out on the water and every map you make you will have to make sure you have water 0 checked in the med options,if the reason you tried -10 was cause it was comeing up through the terrain when you didnt want it was cause of the absolute 0 height on the terrain.

the files of yours i put in my directory was,
pseudo.cpt
pseudo_c.tga
pseudo.trn
pseudo_f.pcx
pseudo_m.pcx
pseudo.tga

i all so tooka ss while in there and dont mind helping on the height map if you have a problem converting it over to a higher height.lol if you havent seen your terrain let me know i will send the ss.

if i didnt answer the question let me know will try again but like i said other then those problems looks fine to me
View user's profile Visit user's homepage View All Posts By User
LoA
Corporal
***


Avatar


Posts: 190
Registered: 1-18-2004
Member Is Offline

Mood: go to hell

[*] posted on 2-16-2004 at 12:40 PM


*SD*LONGBOW that isint very direct, grass terrain for what game? df1 df2 dflw bhd?all so all the games come with grass terrains.or are you looking for a terrain to learn from? not sure what your looking for.....
View user's profile Visit user's homepage View All Posts By User
Pseudopath
Corporal
***


Avatar


Posts: 125
Registered: 8-6-2003
Member Is Offline

Mood: Humbug!

[*] posted on 2-16-2004 at 01:03 PM
ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh



not only have I not seen my terrain I have tried again, and failed, to view it!!!

I cannot understand why you can view it but I cannot!

I have another pack already a VERY basic one but if you dont mind tryng that I would be grateful. If it works I need to look at my set up...

let me know...

PS a SS would be appreciated, thnx.




3.4Ghz P4
Asus P4C800-e Dlx
4x1024Mb 184 pin DIMM PC3200
Win XP Pro SP2 5.1.2160
Radeon 9800XT 256Mb DDR AGP 8x
Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS
2x74Gb WD740GD Raptors (RAID-0)
Antec TrueControl 550P
View user's profile Visit user's homepage View All Posts By User
Pseudopath
Corporal
***


Avatar


Posts: 125
Registered: 8-6-2003
Member Is Offline

Mood: Humbug!

[*] posted on 2-16-2004 at 01:04 PM
ohhh and



No other terrain forums are active so thank you for your help!!!




3.4Ghz P4
Asus P4C800-e Dlx
4x1024Mb 184 pin DIMM PC3200
Win XP Pro SP2 5.1.2160
Radeon 9800XT 256Mb DDR AGP 8x
Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS
2x74Gb WD740GD Raptors (RAID-0)
Antec TrueControl 550P
View user's profile Visit user's homepage View All Posts By User
Pseudopath
Corporal
***


Avatar


Posts: 125
Registered: 8-6-2003
Member Is Offline

Mood: Humbug!

[*] posted on 2-16-2004 at 01:20 PM
hum...



when I add the indiviual files they work but the pack dont...




3.4Ghz P4
Asus P4C800-e Dlx
4x1024Mb 184 pin DIMM PC3200
Win XP Pro SP2 5.1.2160
Radeon 9800XT 256Mb DDR AGP 8x
Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS
2x74Gb WD740GD Raptors (RAID-0)
Antec TrueControl 550P
View user's profile Visit user's homepage View All Posts By User
LoA
Corporal
***


Avatar


Posts: 190
Registered: 1-18-2004
Member Is Offline

Mood: go to hell

[*] posted on 2-16-2004 at 04:57 PM


well at least u got to see it finaly, im haveing some problems with pacs myself so i think you might want to try the dfb moding forum http://www.dfbarracks.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?fid=114

sry cant help you with the pac thing but i have been haveing issues with them in the past week
View user's profile Visit user's homepage View All Posts By User
LoA
Corporal
***


Avatar


Posts: 190
Registered: 1-18-2004
Member Is Offline

Mood: go to hell

[*] posted on 2-16-2004 at 05:00 PM


by the way when your working on files such as terrains clouds or reskining default models just use the /d in your dfbhd short cut like this

"C:\Program Files\NovaLogic\Delta Force Black Hawk Down\dfbhd.exe" /d

it just seems like a hassle free way to test files easy to put in and take out
View user's profile Visit user's homepage View All Posts By User
Pseudopath
Corporal
***


Avatar


Posts: 125
Registered: 8-6-2003
Member Is Offline

Mood: Humbug!

thumbup.gif posted on 2-16-2004 at 09:26 PM



Thanks for all your help mate, I appreciate it.




3.4Ghz P4
Asus P4C800-e Dlx
4x1024Mb 184 pin DIMM PC3200
Win XP Pro SP2 5.1.2160
Radeon 9800XT 256Mb DDR AGP 8x
Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS
2x74Gb WD740GD Raptors (RAID-0)
Antec TrueControl 550P
View user's profile Visit user's homepage View All Posts By User
Pseudopath
Corporal
***


Avatar


Posts: 125
Registered: 8-6-2003
Member Is Offline

Mood: Humbug!

thumbup.gif posted on 2-17-2004 at 12:55 PM
Pack problems sorted!


Simply make a folder called "Mod" in your main BHD folder, put your pff file in it and then add "/mod your_MOD" to either your game or MED shortcut, where your_MOD is your_MOD.pff and voila!

Hope that helps mate!




3.4Ghz P4
Asus P4C800-e Dlx
4x1024Mb 184 pin DIMM PC3200
Win XP Pro SP2 5.1.2160
Radeon 9800XT 256Mb DDR AGP 8x
Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS
2x74Gb WD740GD Raptors (RAID-0)
Antec TrueControl 550P
View user's profile Visit user's homepage View All Posts By User
mew
Private
**


Avatar


Posts: 32
Registered: 12-5-2003
Location: Maine
Member Is Offline

Mood: Pwning Cheats

sad.gif posted on 3-3-2004 at 07:40 AM
LoA can u help me?


LoA can u help me? cuase i`m only 12 but i want to make terrainens but i don`t kno how so could you maybe send me a "very easy!" guide on how to make a terrainen? plz and if u can send it to coolmew774@hotmail.com
View user's profile Visit user's homepage View All Posts By User This user has MSN Messenger
desert_eagle
Grunt
*




Posts: 16
Registered: 5-30-2003
Location: belguim
Member Is Offline

Mood: good

[*] posted on 5-14-2004 at 01:28 AM
help


hey i'm a map maker
but for my next map a need a special terain
where do i download terainmaker
so i can make that terain
View user's profile Visit user's homepage View All Posts By User This user has MSN Messenger
LoA
Corporal
***


Avatar


Posts: 190
Registered: 1-18-2004
Member Is Offline

Mood: go to hell

[*] posted on 5-14-2004 at 03:14 AM


if you read the top of this post it explains what you need to make a terrain.there is no terrain maker other then a person that does it



View user's profile Visit user's homepage View All Posts By User
Distant Storm
General
******


Avatar


Posts: 870
Registered: 9-13-2004
Member Is Offline

Mood: Distant

[*] posted on 2-8-2005 at 08:10 AM


can i ask is there any adobe or word documents of simple tut's on terrain making, as listing how to do it on here is simple but it is much easier with screenshots and good old fashoned Simpleness

i just started terrain making as u know generating terrain then it has save import export export as a raw file and then when you done all that its like what now :(
can anyone give me a doc or adobe formated tut ? with simple language but detailed instruction
View user's profile Visit user's homepage View All Posts By User
wubbaldo
Private
**




Posts: 89
Registered: 1-5-2003
Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 4-24-2005 at 07:40 AM


Good afternoon all:
1. In the header of this thread there is mention of

this link, but it no longer functions
http:// www.terranova-exp.com/~loa/expbhd08_LoA_jurasicpark.jpg


2. for Bryce 5

http://www.corel.com/servlet /Satellite?pagename=Corel/Products/productInfo&id=1042551234521&con tent=Features

The link no longer takes you to bryce 5, unless I am seeing things, or do not know the name of the program I'm looking for.

Also,
now the link for the great fwo ravens cpt converter http://www.dfarena.com/~fi les/FwO_CPT_1.zip

This link does not function either..
View user's profile View All Posts By User
LoA
Corporal
***


Avatar


Posts: 190
Registered: 1-18-2004
Member Is Offline

Mood: go to hell

[*] posted on 8-6-2005 at 08:35 AM


yeah i know sry things change hard drives die and stuff is lost :(



View user's profile Visit user's homepage View All Posts By User
Jet~Man
Grunt
*


Avatar


Posts: 11
Registered: 8-20-2005
Location: USA
Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 8-20-2005 at 08:47 PM


Ok, so I open PSP and then do what? lolol... j/k.

Map making would be fun once you learned how I'm sure. Getting started is a pain.

Any more links or advice for making DF2 terrains?

Thanks for any help.




View user's profile View All Posts By User This user has MSN Messenger
lockdown
Grunt
*




Posts: 2
Registered: 8-28-2005
Member Is Offline

Mood: cheerful

[*] posted on 8-28-2005 at 08:07 AM


i would very much like it if sum 1 could create a flattish-snow terrian for jotr/jo:e

or at least give me a summary with short notes and simple ways to create ur own..

coz i dont no if im doin it right or not jus doesn't seem like its workin with the fwo_cpt i can't find no cpt files anywhere on my comp yet when i look manualy i can c them.
cheers

~lockdown
View user's profile View All Posts By User
SUA-Squad_Admin
Grunt
*




Posts: 8
Registered: 8-29-2005
Location: Georgia
Member Is Offline

Mood: Lazy

[*] posted on 9-6-2005 at 03:58 AM
help lol


im dying to know how to make a sig lol but that isnt really the subject here but if someone could help me that would be nice lol
View user's profile Visit user's homepage View All Posts By User This user has MSN Messenger
-ba-col-spyder
Grunt
*




Posts: 3
Registered: 10-12-2005
Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 12-30-2005 at 11:31 AM


ok...this sounds kool but..where do u download the terrain maker??
View user's profile View All Posts By User
 Pages:  1  

  Go To Top

Powered by XMB 1.9.11
XMB Forum Software © 2001-2012 The XMB Group
[Queries: 15] [PHP: 51.6% - SQL: 48.4%]












Copyright © 2002 - 2008 All Rights Reserved - DFBarracks.com
Site Design by A.Bullet - ScreamingDemon.com